Puerto Rico

My Devotions, Uncategorized

Hey, everybody!

I WENT TO PUERTO RICO!!! For me, just the act of everyone in one place to serve God just absolutely amazed me!! Anyway, we were asked to write a summary of the trip and have had a really hard time trying to put this trip into words. When I came back home, a lot of different people kept coming up to me and asking how our trip was, and every single time I would answer with “It was so fun.” I knew when I said that, they probably weren’t looking for that kind of answer (they wanted more details), but I just  found it too hard to explain into words. Although, I’m going to try my best to do it today.

When we went to Puerto Rico, we partnered with Ponce Baptist Church. At the church every morning, we hosted a sports camp for the kids nearby. Here, we were able to play and have fun  while loving on them and sharing Jesus through our actions and words. After the camps, we would go around Ponce visiting families that either were no longer active in the church or just needed some encouragement.

 

During the trip, I was reminded of many two things.

First, I was reminded that God ALWAYS has a plan. For those who didn’t know, the previous week before we left, I attended Bridge Builders, a leadership conference in Alabama. This was where I learned all of the games we played with the kids. The kids had so much fun with the silly mind games, playing live rock paper scissors, and ninja! God had a plan for me to go to Bridge Builders, learn the games, and bless the kids with them. It was such a blessing to see God at work through it all.
 We didn’t necessarily  move any mountains in the ways that you may hear on typical mission trips, but second, I learned that you don’t always have to. We didn’t make any grand gestures such as VBS or having a doctor’s clinic, but we spent time encouraging our brothers and sisters in Christ, shining for Jesus, and making signs. Yet, we still made an eternal difference in the people of Ponce. This taught me that even the smallest things can still bring a Kingdom difference!
Puerto Rico was overall a blessing! The group had a blast singing, teasing, doing goofy dances, and laughing. God did so much on our trip and I am so thankful to be able to serve Him in everything!
On the other hand, I wanted to challenge y’all to always remember that we don’t have to go to another country to serve God or people. There are so many opportunities in our own backyards that we should be taking advantage of every day!

Leave a comment